Edit and Push Content to a Remote Repository - EoL - Multi-Tenant Guide - 6.11 - Cortex XSOAR - Cortex - Security Operations

Cortex XSOAR Multi-Tenant Guide

Product
Cortex XSOAR
Version
6.11
Creation date
2022-12-12
Last date published
2024-07-16
Category
End of Life > EoL
Multi-Tenant Guide
Abstract

Push content to a remote repository and control access for pushing content.

Once you develop your content, for it to be available as part of a content update for the production environment, you must push the changes to the remote repository.

Caution

You should not manually push content to the remote repository. Use only the procedures outlined in the documentation to ensure that your content is properly updated in the production environment

You can save versions and manage revisions locally using the Save Version button. Alternatively, you can click and save the changes.

multi-tenant-remote-rep.png

These options are only available for the following content types:

  • Automation

  • Playbooks

  • Integrations

  • Classifiers

  • Layouts

  • Reports

  • Dashboards

  • Incident types

  • Fields

  • Preprocess rules

  • Lists

  • Jobs

For all other content types, your changes are automatically saved locally.

You can push individual items such as a playbook, or content packs as a whole. If you want to have more granular control over the items in the content packs that you push, add the ui.version.control.push.partial.packs server configuration and set the value to true.

In some cases, you may want to exclude items from being included in the local changes list, preventing them from being pushed to production, on a temporary or permanent basis. To exclude items, go to SettingsLOCAL CHANGES. Select the item(s) and click Exclude. Excluded items do not appear in the Local Changes list. To move items back to the Local Changes list, click on the Excluded Changes tab, select the item(s), and click Include. Note that you can only exclude individual content items, not content packs.

Note

When working with remote repositories and upgrading to v6.0 and above, push your classifiers and mappers on the development environment before upgrading the production environment.

  1. Push content to the Remote Repository.

    1. Go to SettingsLocal Changes. Push the following content according to the tabs:

      • Items: Content that is not related specifically to a content pack. For example, customized automations or playbooks.

        If you have already pushed a content pack and later edit one of its content items, the edited items will appear in the Items tab, not the Packs tab.

      • Packs: All of the content that is specific to the content packs you installed from Marketplace.

      remote-manage.png
    2. Select the changes that you want to push to the remote repository, and click Push.

    3. In the dialog box, add an optional message and click Push.

    4. If the items have dependencies, review the contents and click Push.

      Sometimes you may not want to push all content, content pack dependencies, etc. For example, when a user makes a change in a playbook that includes an automation dependency to which another user is adding a feature, and the change does not require the new feature (version) of the automation, you can push the playbook without the new automation.

  2. On the remote repository, install the new content.

    1. At the top of any page, click Install New Content.

    2. In the dialog box, click Install Content.

      You can also check for new content that has been pushed.

    3. If conflicts appear, click Resolve conflicts.

    4. In the Action column, select one of the following:

      • Skip: Keeps the local content in your production environment.

      • Replace: Deletes the local content and installs the content from the remote repository.

    5. Click OK to save the changes.

  3. (Optional) If you want to control access when pushing content, on the remote repository, do the following

    1. Select SettingsAboutTroubleshootingServer Configuration

    2. Click Add Configuration.

    3. Under key, enter UI.version.control.admin.only

    4. Under value, enter true.

    5. Click Save.